Four Functions, One Cup

Posted on November 4, 2010 by

3


This blog has been neglected lately. I apologize on behalf of myself only. I am quite preoccupied these days with a full schedule. designAsshole is just lazy.

Anyway, this is just a quick thought, but my classmate sent me this link the other day and I immediately fell in love with it.

One Cup designed by Utopik Design

Original link to LooksLikeGoodDesign.

It’s genius. I really don’t know much about industrial/product design, but this is awesome. It is so versatile for so many different functions, yet it is so simple and keeps the same cup throughout its uses. Incorporating interchangeable parts to fit its own occasion is such a great feature. What fabulous function! And you can save yourself the trouble of having so many sets of cups/glasses. If this were really produced and if I were rich, I’d buy a few of them so that I don’t have to bother with a wine glass set, champagne glass set, and cups for nice events! (And I guess use them for cognac if I ever have such fancy old fashioned guests who bring their own cognac cuz I hate cognac.)

I also appreciate its design. I think just plain glass is too common and having the dark shaped forms (maybe plastic?) with the undulating wave-like cut correlates with the fluids that it could contain. To me, it speaks modernity with class without looking too luxurious and pompous. One thing that bothers me is the base of the champagne glass. I think it should’ve been black like the wine glass base.

I am patiently waiting for this to be marketed.

